• Poropetra - [neo folk]


    Country: Finland   
    Style: Neofolk, Folk Metal
    Band Members: Elsa Pardonen, Nancy, Juha Jyrkäs, Markus Ylikoski, Hittavainen, Leo Herranen
    Profile: Poropetra was founded in 2002 by Juha Jyrkäs. The first demo "Poropetra" -MCD was published in 2004. It represented modern Finnish folk music. In 2007 the band published their first album, "Sinihirwi", which mixed together the elements of Finno-Ugrian music traditions, Tuvan throat-singing, world music, psychedelic rock and traditional heavy rock. Thus the style changed into ethnic rock music. In the autumn 2007 guitar player Markus Ylikoski joined in Poropetra. The new sound started to change more and more guitar-driven stuff and much more versatile than before; new elements, new instruments and new soundscapes will be expected. The band has written new material for their next album, expected to be published somewhere in the future. In the spring 2008 some line-up changes also happened: kantele-player Kuuraparta and drummer Aapo Hopeakoski left the band and new drummer Lari Hammarberg and regular bass-player Leo Herranen joined the band. Now the sound is stronger than ever before and the music style is more rock-oriented, melting fascinating elements of heavy rock, psychedelic rock, Tuvan throat-singing, world music, blues, punk, progressive music and Finno-Ugrian myths together into a rich package of good ethnic rock music! Unfortunately Lari Hammarberg left the band at spring 2009, thus the session drummer shall be heard at the next album. The band will start to record the album at the summer 2009.
    URLs: http://hirwenkota.havusiipi.fi
  • Nostatus - [neo folk]


    Country: Finland
    Style: Neofolk, Folk Metal,
    Band Members: Pekka Aho a.k.a. Frostheim Kuuraparta
    Profile: Started in '02 as "Kuuraparta" and one primitive demo-CDR came out at this early pre-like stage. The name changed to Nostatus in early '04 along with the self-titled MCD (as CDR) under the new name. The first "real" album titled as Sanan synty came out in spring '06, and it contains 10 songs for around 30 mins and is limited to 250 copies only.
    URLs: http://ikirouta.havusiipi.fi/Nostatus/